Skip navigation

Well it’s Easter here, as I’m sure it is in most places! I’ve noticed though, Easter here is miles different than it is in England in many ways… for example, there are no large chocolate eggs in humongous  boxes, instead, families go “egg hunting”. I asked my girlfriend what a normal family does to celebrate Easter:

“We spend the night before dying hard-boiled eggs so overnight the ‘Easter Bunny’ can hide them in our house. We (children!) then spend the whole morning looking for them” – Markie Miller

Markie's nephew, Atticus, hunting eggs in Texas painted as cars!

This morning we did just that, and I was surprised to see myself so involved, as well as everyone else! Bearing in mind that the youngest person looking for the eggs was 21, it was even more fun! Along with the dyed eggs, we also had a bunch of plastic eggs to find, each containing money, and 77 puzzle pieces to collect. The finder of the special piece was given a bunch of extra prizes, which included $10 and a Pez dispenser. We were all given a basket with extra gifts in, including a gift card and a bunch of chocolates, and overall I found myself $19 and a bunch of real eggs. Pretty badass!

I’m still working on my Totem Pole, taking pictures as I go, hopefully once it’s done I’ll post all of them on here, with the finished product. Until then though…

Leave a comment